Read Books Like a Boss With CEO Recommendations

top books ceo read

Say you’re looking to start your own business. Perhaps, you’re ready to change direction in your career. That said a bit of inspiration can go a long way and we could all use a little inspiration now and then. Book recommendations are a great way of gaining valuable insight. With that in mind, who better to make recommendations than super-successful CEOs? The following is a guide to some of the best books recommended by CEOs.

The Intelligent Investor

top books ceo readThe Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham aims to teach long term strategies of “value investing”. Moreover, it highlights the need for a sound intellectual framework for making decisions in order to invest successfully over a lifetime. Most importantly, this book is highly regarded by business tycoon, Warren Buffet.

A Full Life: Reflections at Ninety

top books ceo readNext, is A Full Life: Reflections at Ninety by former President, Jimmy Carter. This book highlights his improbable rise from a house in rural Georgia without running water to running the White House. This read was recommended by Microsoft founder, Bill Gates.

~ Advertisement ~

The Remains Of The Day

Founder and CEO of Amazon, Jeff Bezos, recommends Booker Prize winner, The Remains Of The Day. This novel by Kazuo Ishiguro offers some valuable lessons on life and regrets. 

Portfolios Of The Poor: How the World’s Poor Live on $2 a Day

Portfolios of the Poor is a recommendation made by the mighty Mark Zuckerberg. This book will bring you some perspective in a time where we could all use it. To explain, the book goes over the systematic approach that people use in poverty to get by and provide for their families. So many people are in poverty so no wonder someone as well known as Mark Zuckerberg picked up on the issue.

~ Advertisement ~

Business Adventures

For top books CEO read, look no further than this one. John Brooks’ Business Adventures is recommended by two CEOs: Warren Buffet and Bill. This great book highlights twelve real life success and scandal stories including Ford, Xerox and General Electric. Better yet, it is available on all the usual formats,

Being Wrong: Adventures In The Margin Of Error

This masterpiece by Kathryn Schulz is a master class in decision making and explores opinions. Consequently, how to examine them and how to change them. A deceptively simple read, Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error one should be on every entrepreneur’s shelf. 

The Outsiders: Eight Unconventional CEOs and Their Radically Rational Blueprint For Success

The title may be something of a tongue twister but, there’s a good reason why William N. Thorndike’s book comes recommended by Warren Buffet and Mark Fields. The Outsiders explores the art of thoughtful capital allocation through the success stories of a number of different CEOs. 

~Advertisement~

The Charisma Myth: How Anyone Can Master The Art and Science of Personal Magnetism

Recommended by Marissa Mayer and Laura Lang, The Charisma Myth by Olivia Fox Cabane is a guide to the human-centric ‘it factors’ which can turn a good business leader into a great one. 

Superintelligence: Paths, Dangers, Strategies

books recommended by ceosA favorite with Bill Gates and Elon Musk, Nick Bostrom’s ‘Superintelligence’ asks – and answers – some important questions including ‘Will artificial agents save or destroy us?’ Thoughtful and inspirational, this book goes beyond business as we know it. 

~Advertisement~

World Order: Reflections on the Character of Nations and the Course of History

books recommended by ceosRecommended by Stephen Schwarzman as a top book read by CEOs, Henry Kissinger’s World Order is the perfect combination of entertainment and inspiration. For instance, it is based on principles, engagement, and pragmatism, this book has helped countless entrepreneur’s take their businesses to the next level. 

Competing Against Time

ceo booksCompeting Against Time examines the ways in which companies manage time in terms of development, distribution and sales. Additionally, it’s said that CEO of Apple, Tim Cook, was so impressed with this book that he regularly gives out copies to every new member of staff who joins the company.  A must read.

~Advertisement~

The Boys In The Boat – Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

ceo booksIf it’s straight up, flat out inspiration you’re after, this book should be at the top of your list. Daniel James Brown tells the story of nine working class boys who formed the 1936 US Olympic rowing team and how they overcame incredible odds to row to victory in Berlin. Better yet, It’s a New York Times Best Seller!

Much more than just motivational reads, these CEO approved books offer a wealth of information, experience and knowledge for a startup. Although you may not have room on your shelves for all of these, one or two won’t hurt. Most importantly, they will help you to step into the shoes of some of the greats, and may just provide the stepping stone that you’ve been looking for.

Don’t stop reading after picking up these books recommended by CEOs! For more inspiration check out The Best Business Books You Need To Read In 2020 or Best Finance Books for Beginners. Then, once you have your new business up and running check out Best E-commerce Platform for Startups and Small Businesses and Best Website Builder Software 2020 to help get you started.

We hope you love the products we recommend! Just so you know, Talk District may collect a share of sales or other compensation from the links on this page.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sponsored Post

More Posts

Get access to exclusive content and tips. We already made life easier for 15,000+ people. What are you waiting for?

Subscribe

Get access to exclusive content and tips. We already made life easier for 15,000+ people.
What are you waiting for?

Subscribe